Whether to ask for the line

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Whether to ask for the line

Since I don't follow steam, I typically assume that I can get any number shown on the Don Best feed. So I save time by just spitting out what I want, along with the odds shown. This generally very well.

But just in the past week I've had two "errors" on the screen at Olympic. I know they were typos because I checked their website. But the bad numbers just stayed there for over an hour.

Then there have been two incidents this week, also at Olympic, where I've spit out my play, heard the clerk yell it out (without specifying the odds), see the screen change, then have the clerk read back the play to me at the CHANGED screen odds. I declined the wagers, of course.

I'm not rushing to blame Olympic, since I'm not really an old pro at all this. Perhaps some others of you (who are) can shed some light. I'm interested in who asks for the line, vs. those who try and save time ilke myself.

It's been happening to me EVERY time I call in whether there's steam or not. If everyone is at -120 and I want to bet Olympic's line that's been sitting there for an hour at -115, I'm not getting it.

Olympic, fix this problem, either update the Don Best feed better or honor the line on the screen. It looks like your "shading" your lines.

This is not up to to your usual exemplary way you conduct yourselves and the high regard I have for your book.

Comment

If the game you want is early(1st or 2nd) in the schedule rundown tell the clerk to run the games and stop him/her right after the clerk spits out the line.Works for me.Some stores this is unneccessary as they never jerk you around.

Comment